Mystery Writers Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

New Profile Fields Available. More info here.

collapse collapse
* Search

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

* Who's Online
  • Dot Guests: 54
  • Dot Hidden: 0
  • Dot Users: 0

There aren't any users online.

Pages: 1 ... 20 21 [22] 23 24 25   Go Down

Author Topic: The Welcome Wagon Thread  (Read 192398 times)

Abbs

• Cub
Re: The Welcome Wagon Thread
« Reply #315 on: February 14, 2010, 07:53:41 AM »

Hello people - I'm in Wales at the moment but have lived in London and Liverpool for large chunks of time. Was pointed here from Mark Billingham's site, btw. I'm impressed by the global spread of members here, and look forward to hearing diverse views.

I was a journalist and have some non-fiction books published, but I'm trying to finish off my first novel - getting to the end of the second draft but really struggling with the first chapter now that the rest is written. I'm sure you know what I mean - searching for the irresistible hook, the powerful first line... Also need to work out what sub-genre it's in. I see there's lots of advice and debate about this on the forum so will work my way through threads and try not to ask too many idiot questions. Is it just me, or does anyone else get a bit overwhelmed by the odds against finding an agent, let alone a publisher, let alone readers who buy unknown authors? Will be good to have a bolthole full of like-minded writers to chat to. Look forward to getting to know you all.

Elena

• Ink-Stained Wretch
« Reply #316 on: February 14, 2010, 09:44:15 AM »

Hi Abbs,

And a big warm welcome. Glad you found us.

Congratulations on getting the first draft of your novel done - a huge accomplishment!